Helping Hurting Kids

boy-teen-sad

In Skillet’s (Christian Rock Band) song called the Last Night, a scary line of truth is sung. The verse says, “You come to me with scars on your wrist, you tell me this will be the last night feeling like this. “I just came to say goodbye, I didn’t want you to see me cry, I’m fine”, but I know it’s a lie.” This song speaks a line said by many teens today. Self-harm and suicide are scary topics to talk about, but are things youth ministry desperately needs to address.

Currently in our youth group, I have encountered many students who are struggling with hurting themselves through many different things. Primarily, self-harm is the largest grouping of hurts. So how as a staff member in a ministry do we address this growing problem? In reality, it takes time, effort, lots of prayer and a willingness to do some of the hard things. In a post found on Youth Ministry 360, Greg Wilson writes about 6 ways you can help hurting students in your ministry. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

